Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Back up plans? [Plan B]

Default Back up plans? (Plan B)

I wish I could say I'm confident I will get the position, but I'm not. Even though I have a strong resume and recommendation letters, it seems that the acceptance criteria is random after seeing so many people qualified people get rejected. I'm banking on the fact that I will get accepted, which isn't really wise, given the 25% acceptance rate.

A wiser plan would be to have a plan B for living in Japan. I've thought about working for NOVA, but that thought makes me shudder in pain. Has anyone else explored some alternatives? I'm a qualified software developer who doesn't speak Japanese, so I don't think getting a real job in Japan would be feasible. One reason why I was attracted to JET is that they make the transition to Japan easy for newcomers.

So what are your thoughts?

I've been looking at NOVA also. probably what i'll do if i can't get into JET. although I do speak japanese pretty well already so maybe I'll be able to find another way into the country.
    A former highschool teacher of mine that i still keep in touch with did AEON like 10 years ago, when he first graduated from college. He said he really enjoyed it and thought it was a really good program. not sure how it is nowadays however.

Default Re: Back up plans? (Plan B)

Quote Originally Posted by mindarchitect
    I've thought about working for NOVA, but that thought makes me shudder in pain.
    I've met people here who enjoy working for NOVA, so don't discount them completely.

Saying that, I'll recommend Westgate again: www.westgate.co.jp
    "If you've got [a penis], or access to one, take a good look at it this evening and ask yourself: how can this possibly be the work of a sane God?"

Default Plan - B Don't do anything

My current job is okay, so if I don't get in, I'm just going to wait it out and apply next year.