View Poll Results: Do you find that your students don't get to do much speaking?

Voters
133. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes

0 0%
  • no

0 0%
  • 133 100.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Students Speaking

az

Default Students Speaking

In my Oral communication classes, sadly the students do not do much speaking. My JTE constantly talks and translates and never leaves much time for speaking.

Now this is in complete contradiction to the lastest methods of commnicative teaching which I studied at Teachers' College.

The basic rule is
    Less TTT (teacher talking time) and
    More STT (student talking time)

Is anyone else finding the same thing??

az

Do you think if their education was in a proper communicative atmosphere, that would change??

What Paul said; it's not so straightforward!
    "If you've got [a penis], or access to one, take a good look at it this evening and ask yourself: how can this possibly be the work of a sane God?"

az

Paul,

Everything you said is good- but obvious.

What I'm trying to address here is the nature and structure of English education in general- not what you do, I'm sure you're great. But...

Do you find that the JTEs spend a lot of time talking in class?

Do you find that there is not enough opportunity for speaking practice, irrelevant of whether they want to speak or not, is that time made the biggest priority as it should be in a communicative class?

I agree with you, az; there is virtually no communicative teaching outside of a few ALT classes. However, you have to remember a couple of points:

1. Teachers here are not, as far as I know, trained in how to teach a communicative lesson. That seems to be changing here in Hiroshima, but who knows what effect it will have. When new teachers come to my school, they seem to have no idea what they're doing!