Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: genki genki GENKI

Default genki genki GENKI

Quote Originally Posted by frankdux in another thread
    this is my first year and i doubt i'll stay a second. the job is an honest joke. i am treated like a second class employee and given little insight into the curriculum even though i am an american teacher and the JTEs told me straight to my face that they are trying to model their school system after the american school system. and yet they show no interest in my own teacher training or info on the american education system.

THE JOB OF AN ALT IS NOT TO TEACH ENGLISH. THE JOB OF AN ALT IS TO PROMOTE THE 'FUN' OF ENGLISH BY DOING A GODDAMN SONG AND DANCE FOR THE STUDENTS AND OTHER TEACHERS - AND IF THERE IS TIME LEFT, PLAY PICTIONARY.

i find it insulting that with the 2-3 classes i am given to actually 'teach' by myself, i am told that i can do anything i want. in other words, it doesnt matter what i do because it wont be incorporated into the curriculum, it wont be tested on, and the JTE wont follow up on it in future lessons.
    I think he brings up some pretty good points here. Given that it I bet it won't be discussed at midyear let's talk about it here.

My opinion is that the over emphasis on genki at all costs education here is counter effective. I don't do it and my JTEs don't do it but I know that the JET 'training' encourages it to some extent. Does it make the students like English more or does it make them think that English is a big joke that they don't take seriously. Are Japanese maths lessons supergenkitastic or is it a big inside joke about English that you'll never understand in spite of the fact that you are encouraged to implement it? Does genki have a cost in that the Ss just don't take English seriously or something else?