Thread: Questions as a [possible] future ALT and current student

Default Questions as a (possible) future ALT and current student

If this is in the wrong place, feel free to delete/move as needed.

I'm studying abroad in Japan and had the great idea of taking a class on Japanese education in hopes of standing out a bit when I apply for JET next year. Because of this, I am now rushing around less than a week before the deadline to find information for a paper I haven't begun to write. Anyway, I was hoping I could get some of you to answer some questions for me about the system(s) used to teach English that you have experienced while being here. I'm trying to emphasize problems, so if you have any horror stories they would be greatly appreciated (as long as it is applicable and not just a rant).

1. What are your impressions of the methods used for English teaching.

2. How are lessons taught? For example, does the teacher lecture, how much class participation is there, do students focus more on speaking/listening or reading/writing, etc.

3. Compared to learning foreign languages in your own country, how do they differ (positive and/or negative)?

4. How effectively are you used in your class(es)? What sorts of improvement would you like to see?

5. For those who have been teaching for an extended period of time, has there been a noticeable/significant improvement in your student's language skills (if you have had them long enough to tell)?

6. On a scale from one to ten (one being low, ten being high), how would you rate the English language program that you participate in? Feel free to explain, but it isn't needed.
    ~~~~~