Thread: the は vs が confusion

Default the は vs が confusion

the particles still bug me, and saying that は marks the topic and が marks the subject doesn't help.

Could it be explained using vocal emphasis? So

Intoducing yourself:
    私は先生です - "I am a teacher", with the emphasis on "a teacher".

Maybe someone walks into a class and asks if you're the foreign exchange student.
    私が先生です - "I am a teacher", with the emphasis on "I", so maybe becoming "I'm the teacher".

Does that work, or am I screwing up understanding even more?

EDIT: edited for being so confused I got it backwards
    * And the Lord said unto John "Come forth and receive eternal life." But John came fifth and won a toaster. *

I was told by a couple of people (one being my Japanese teacher in these parts) that you shouldn't use "sensei" when referring to yourself. Kyoushi is supposed to be more appropriate. But anyway, I was actually reading this during a free period today.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanes...81.8C_.28ga.29

About 2/3 of the way down the page, under Particles, might be useful. Hope this helps!

Default Re: the は vs が confusion

Quote Originally Posted by andreyla
    the particles still bug me, and saying that は marks the topic and が marks the subject doesn't help.

Could it be explained using vocal emphasis? So

Intoducing yourself:
    私は先生です - "I am a teacher", with the emphasis on "a teacher".

Maybe someone walks into a class and asks if you're the foreign exchange student.
    私が先生です - "I am a teacher", with the emphasis on "I", so maybe becoming "I'm the teacher".

Does that work, or am I screwing up understanding even more?

EDIT: edited for being so confused I got it backwards