Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Local Ben

Default Local Ben

Learning it then?

My neighbours have been trying for months to teach me and I think i've got the hang of it. As long as you sound like you're a bag of shit from some scummy area then you're probably speaking Okayama ben. Then there's my town ben which is just impossible.

Anyway so you lot learning your bens?

I'm told that if i ever go to Osaka or Tokyo not to use okayama ben because it's embarassing.
    Melanie: back!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZdDxFsopVs

'Oh it's so wonderful to be an older woman. All this old stuff to do'

I've tried a little bit, but I am not very good at Japanese in general....

My supervisor speaks "kansai-ben" and all the kids laugh at him. I can't tell what is so funny...

Once, I was talking to an older lady from my bitty village. I could hardly understand a word she was saying. I made guesses, asked her the question again in the Japanese I knew and she nodded and said what I assume was yes in a new way.

Weeks later, she ran up to my car at a stop light and gave me corn soup. Maybe I asked her for it in whatever language she was speaking. :smt005

OPPORTUNITYISNOWHERE mteacher80's Avatar

oh i think i am learning it, no one says anything when i talk here in my area but i get loads of "what they hell are you saying" when i visit friends in tokyo or what not.
    kansai ben is cool, but it is not just one ben. there are differences all over the board. heres one expamle.

to go行く to come 来る
    so when saying not to come or dont come...

来ません or 来ない
    but in
    osaka its けへん
    kyoto its こへん
    shiga its けあらへん

and there are subtle nuances within each town and city as well, i am really interested in learning this kind of stuff, and do my best to speak in my local dialect whenever i can.....
    ☆★REAL EYES REALIZE REAL LIES★☆

Okayama ben:

Sometimes simple things like 'That's pretty good hey?' - いいですね

somehow becomes:

*grunt*ぼけいええじゃな〜*gruntgrunt*