Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Heisig in 30 days

Pandilex

Default Heisig in 30 days

I've decided to see if I can complete heisig's remembering the kanji from start to finish in 30 days.

Ive always been lazy studying in japan, in fact the only i time i studied was just before the 3 kyuu exam for a couple of months.

Since I want to pass 2 kyuu and im tired of all the random kanjis coming up and shafting me, ive decided to knuckle down and learn all 2000 odd common use kanjis in the heisig book, in 4 weeks, or more precisely, my birthday which is exactly one month from now.

i started a few days ago and i am up to kanji 480. The first 200 id learned ages ago anyway. My goal is to learn around 100 per day, although it depends on my free time.

Today I only had time to learn 65 kanjis, cos i had 2 classes and was pretty knackered. already i put kanjis to many words i already knew which increased my confidence.

anyway i hope that if i succeed then it will perhaps encourage some other language noobies to give it a try.

it is hard to make this comments without getting into a debate on the system but..

i had said in the debate topic that i see this as a good complimentary study tool for learning kanji. the biggest problem i have with it is that i tend to only want it to help me remember some kanji that i don't use often but the stories in the book often suck. the website i think sarah linked to a while ago seems useful though, it has other peoples stories for remembering the characters:
    http://kanji.koohii.com

i'm going to use this for some of those characters i seem to keep forgetting. like the odd characters that aren't used much and have few useful compounds but for some reason are in the jyouyou kanji ><