Thread: HS students

Default HS students

ok so i picked up some extra money by teaching conversation class on the side for a small company, my problem is that i cant get the HS level students to talk. anybody got any ideas? i realy need some help

Need more info!
    Last edited by reed; February 3rd, 2009 at 18:48. Reason: Asked too many questions, felt silly.

ok well i am new to teaching i am actually here with my wife who is the jet. when i say new i mean green, i am a grease monkey by trade and as for the company it is any thing but big, at the moment it is just a small shop in shizowaka (spelled rong) prefecture

ok well i am new to teaching i am actually here with my wife who is the jet. when i say new i mean green, i am a grease monkey by trade and as for the company it is any thing but big, at the moment it is just a small shop in shizowaka (spelled rong) prefecture

Default Re: HS students

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot? i think my computer is tripping out

You've got to find out what interests them - bands they like, big movies that are out right now, even anime characters. It'll take a little research on your part but if you can get them talking even saying "my favourite band is..." or "my favourite movie is..." or "I like [insert character/person from show/movie] more than [insert character/person from show/movie] because..." it'll get them somewhat motivated. Especially with the last one you might even get a decent debate going. You could do like a pros/cons thing on the board with one character on each side (obviously these would have to be popular enough for everyone to know who they are)

I <3 Melon Soda

It is REALLY HARD to make high school kids talk without super-structured activities telling them how to answer. I think it's because, at that age, they've become afraid of making mistakes.